RETURN to AlphaUniverse.com
Welcome To Our Community!

Discuss, share & explore photography, video, vlogging and making the most of your gear.

Moving from A7IV to A7RV

russ0

Hello everyone, I'm new here and passionated by Sony cameras/lens. I started as a hobbist 3 years ago with A7III and everything changed. I recently bought A7IV but after see all features in A7RV I was thinking if worth the move, I have the camera only for 2 months now but there are several feature due to the AI chip that caught my eyes. Im not a professional, I do not make money with it (Only spending), it would really worth to pay the double of  A7IV? I'm a big enthusiast of Astro, Landscapes, Macro (Insects) and Birds, also very addicted to Northern Lights when is possible to go for it. 

Any tip wll be very welcome..

Regards,

Alex

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Well, considering that you have an R V in your gear footer, perhaps a moot point. I’m a gadget guy and *always* like the idea of upgrading. Yet… I too spend money (vs making money professionally) and always try to keep in mind that Sony will come out with an R VI and R VII at some point. If money isn’t an issue, go for it, and have fun.

I’m shooting with an a9 and have an R IV for backup and am kicking around the a1. Do I “need” it? No. Not for the casual/hobbyist thing I do. While everyone is different, I decided to spend money on glass. Maybe I’ll upgrade beyond my current platform at some point (likely when they come out with the A2 or R VI. Lol.