RETURN to AlphaUniverse.com
Welcome To Our Community!

Discuss, share & explore photography, video, vlogging and making the most of your gear.

Which camera, I'm new to cams😎

Richierams

Hello , so the only camera I have ever really used is my phone's Camara. Oh and the disposable ones from back in the school days. And now about a month ago or so. I found myself overwhelmed with the variety of cameras, and since I'ma slow shopper I have to do research , (mostly on youtube) and came to the conclusion that I would go with sony.  Bottom line I want a camera that I can flip the screen to the side . I seen the a7siii but the portraits supposedly aren't all that great compared to other ones like the a7 iv and the a7r v . Which one can y'all recommend . I will be doing equally videos as much as photos.  Videos in wide angle also in fish eye view.  And do y'all think I should start with something smaller like the zv-e10.?  And do all Sony lenses fit other Sony cameras?   

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hey Richie, when picking a camera there is a lot to be considered. Usually many questions are asked about the purpose of the camera, etc etc etc. However, given that you want to shoot wide-angle and fisheye, that narrows down the best options for your use case considerably. 

When photographers choose to shoot primarily wide-angle or fish-eye (ULTRA wide-angle, really) they will choose to go with a full frame camera. The reason this is, is due to the "crop ratio" of the smaller sensors. Smaller sensors like APS-C add 1.5X focal range to your chosen lens. Hence a 20MM full frame lens will really be a 30MM lens on an A6600 or ZV-E10. If you are looking for the sharpest lenses they come in full frame, and than you have to equate for the crop factor. This makes shooting wide-angle photography incredibly more difficult because you need much wider glass to get those pristine wide-angle shots.