RETURN to AlphaUniverse.com
Welcome To Our Community!

Discuss, share & explore photography, video, vlogging and making the most of your gear.

What is the HARDEST thing you shoot?

CarolineJensen

On 12/8/2023 at 7:00 AM, Katrina Thompson said:

For me, it's eagles and owls in flight. I feel as though I have had many opportunities as of late, but by the time I get close enough and my settings are ready, they fly away before I get a chance to get that perfect shot with their clear, crisp wings in flight. 

Could contain: Animal, Bird, Eagle, Vulture, Bald Eagle

Hi, Katrina,

I'm still new to all of this, so take it with a grain of salt.
When I'm looking for eagles, I have the camera set for birds in flight (loosely based on the video below), and I use recall custom hold assigned to a button to override those settings for birds at rest.

That way, it's point and shoot when something interesting flies by. This doesn't guarantee good results, but at least the camera is ready even if I'm not.

image.thumb.jpeg.ed2466ab274d88ce9d47d200d630c259.jpeg
ILCE-1 Sony FE 200–600mm F5.6–6.3 G OSS (SEL200600G) 600.0 mm ƒ/6.3 1/4000 sec ISO 640

Edited by ST
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

That would be swimming for me. Swimmer dip in-and-out of the water and causes the camera to loose focus continuously. To make matter worse, the camera's focus shifts to the water droplets that splash in front of the swimmers. I get the lowest percentage of usable images for this sport. Not to mention Chlorine water everywhere.

Could contain: Person, Swimming, Water, Water Sports, Cap, Clothing, Hat, Pool, Swimming Pool, Face

• Like 1

On 12/8/2023 at 9:00 AM, Katrina Thompson said:

For me, it's eagles and owls in flight. I feel as though I have had many opportunities as of late, but by the time I get close enough and my settings are ready, they fly away before I get a chance to get that perfect shot with their clear, crisp wings in flight. 

Could contain: Animal, Bird, Eagle, Vulture, Bald Eagle