RETURN to AlphaUniverse.com
Welcome To Our Community!

Discuss, share & explore photography, video, vlogging and making the most of your gear.

RX0II Saves The Day: The Tiny Camera Allows Access Never Before Possible at an Ordination

pm-r
Go to solution Solved by bjohnson,

I've been a working pro shooter (my sole way of making a living), since I graduated college in 1988.  In all that time, I've had many first time experiences but the older I get, the more seldom they come my way, simply by virtue of my longstanding experience behind the lens.  Yesterday, the RX0II was my champion as another part of my life merged into the photographic side of me.

Could contain: Altar, Architecture, Building, Church, Prayer

In 2007, I was ordained a Deacon in the Catholic Church.  During the week I work on photo and video projects, take assignments, and edit my work like most of you.  But on Sundays, if I'm not traveling, I'm fulfilling my role as a minister on the altar at Catholic Mass in my parish.  

Over the last few months, I got pretty close with a seminarian who came to spend time at my parish, which is on the campus of the University of Tennessee.  Dan is a great guy and I was really moved when he asked me to be present and serve on the altar as a deacon at his ordination Mass in New York City yesterday.  After agreeing to do this for him, I later found out that I would be serving and assisting the most powerful prelate in the United States, Cardinal Timothy Dolan, of the Archdiocese of New York.  While it terrified me to have to keep track of all the many things I would have to do on the altar, I also wanted to make a couple of photos of Dan and Chris as they were ordained.  

Could contain: Architecture, Building, Indoors, Person, Prayer, Chapel, Church

Could contain: Altar, Building, Wood, Person, Adult, Male, Man, Flooring, Hardwood, Flower Bouquet