RETURN to AlphaUniverse.com
Welcome To Our Community!

Discuss, share & explore photography, video, vlogging and making the most of your gear.

Seeking Advice on Camera Settings for Low-Light Shooting

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to cinematography and would appreciate some guidance on camera settings for shooting in low light conditions. I am using Sony Alpha a7S III and primarily work on short films.

Could anyone with experience in low light shooting share their recommended camera settings ? Specifically, I am curious about-

• ISO settings for minimal noise.
  • Aperture settings for depth of field.
  • Shutter speed for motion blur control.

Any additional tips or tricks for capturing quality footage in low-light environments would be incredibly helpful. I already went through this: https://www.teds.com.au/blog/low-light-photography-tips-cissp/ it contains more helpful information about this but I want to know more tips and tricks on it.

Thank you in advance for your insights.

Mitchel

• 1 month later...
  • Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

There are several factors to consider:

Are you using log, or a baked in picture profile?

I would suggest avoiding log, unless the scenes your are filming have both lots of stuff in the shadows AND highlights that you also need to preserve. If however pretty much everything in the scenes is in the dark, then sticking with a standard gamma might be best as you don't actually need to capture such an extreme dynamic range. It means more data is concentrated on a limited dynamic range — fine, as your scene doesn't have much dynamic range anyway.

The camera has a "high ISO noise reduction" setting. You need to test for yourself if you like the effect this has on the images. You may prefer to leave it off and apply different (perhaps better) noise reduction in post (Resolve, Baselight, Topaz).