RETURN to AlphaUniverse.com
Welcome To Our Community!

Discuss, share & explore photography, video, vlogging and making the most of your gear.

What was your biggest learning curve when it came to learnng photography?

CarolineJensen

Post-processing to achieve a filmic look. I'm an engineer and arts is my weakest skill. I like how some images look like they came out of a movie, and I do have an idea how I want to get my images to look like in the end. But nothing registers in my head how this is achieved and how to read images "artistically".

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...

Post-processing to achieve a filmic look. I'm an engineer and arts is my weakest skill. I like how some images look like they came out of a movie, and I do have an idea how I want to get my images to look like in the end. But nothing registers in my head how this is achieved and how to read images "artistically".

One of my favorite tips is to pull movie stills into Photoshop and analyze the colors. It is a more precise way to 'get under the hood' of the color grading and handling of highlights and shadows. 

• Like 1

One of my favorite tips is to pull movie stills into Photoshop and analyze the colors. It is a more precise way to 'get under the hood' of the color grading and handling of highlights and shadows. 

I do that from time-to-time but I feel there is a key information I'm missing. I believe I need someone familiar with film color grading to explain what each element was done to a scene and why. And I don't mean what emotions to stir, I got that.

I also sometimes wish I don't need to go to photoshop to do so, but lightroom is limited. If only capture one would have subject masking as good or better than photoshop. That would be the jackpot for editing.

• Like 2

For me, I think it is focusing and lighting and how so many different components(shutter speed, aperture, distance, ISO, etc.) require adjustments to get the right exposure.