RETURN to AlphaUniverse.com
Welcome To Our Community!

Discuss, share & explore photography, video, vlogging and making the most of your gear.

If photography is art, why is there so much hate?

DJYoshi
Go to solution Solved by alpha-stormy,

Though I'm not new to taking pictures, I'm new in my journey to becoming a photographer.  Over the last few months, I've joined reddit groups, searched the internet for tips and techniques to make my workflow more efficient.  I've even had the opportunity to build relationships with some of the most prominent photographers... The prominent folks tell me: just keep shooting.  Don't be worried about what others say if the photo and scene speak to you (as long as the camera settings are in line with the shot).

Then there's the "internet professionals" who do nothing but criticize your work, edits and even your eye.  They make it almost impossible to discern who has credible knowledge for you to succeed as opposed to the hate.

I've even had someone tell me: "well you're proof that spending 10k on gear doesn't mean that you're good enough to use that gear."

So if photography is supposed to be an art, something that speaks to you as the artist, why is there so much hatred and dislike to new photographers?

How did you start to determine which shots you took were "worthy" of the internet?

As someone whose primary focus in life is music and production, trust me when I say that the skin is thick...

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Solution