RETURN to AlphaUniverse.com
Welcome To Our Community!

Discuss, share & explore photography, video, vlogging and making the most of your gear.

What Makes a Great Photograph?

Aggomes
Go to solution Solved by RMalayeri,

I'm a novice using an a6000 with kit lens and wanted to know what are the most important aspects to take into account when taking a photograph? Technical and layman opinions with examples will be appreciated.

For example, below is my favorite picture because the emotion on the bride and groom's face can't be replicated if they were asked to reproduce it again. Also, its thought provoking. Viewers have a different opinion regarding what is the couple looking at? Some say the emotion results from seeing the guests in attendance, while others say seeing the castle from the background is the cause. More philosophical people claim its the excitement about getting off the car, which symbolizes their life as single people looking for love, and beginning their new life together as a married couple in love. Therefore, being left to interpretation is important as well.

I'm looking forward to getting your feedback and learning from everyone!

366i496306871883870D.thumb.jpg.6712ba1de87a296a6a89fdc6f2be4cd9.jpg 

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Solution

Great question @Aggomes! The #Alpha 6000 (a6000) was also my first Sony Alpha camera 👌

I have a few simple pieces of advice that you can focus on as you begin to learn and practice your photography. 

Try to focus on your composition, and start by using some common rules to compose your images. Lookup the "rule of thirds", the "Golden ratio", "Leading lines", and other well known compositional best practices, so you can begin to combine your nack for capturing unique moments, with sound compositional principles.